What are the continent/subcontinent supported?

A continent is one of the very large masses of land on Earth that is linked together. Each continent is unique with specific characteristics. There are 6 commonly known continents, namely the Africa, Americas, Antarctica, Asia, Europe, and Oceania.

This continent information is available in all GeoDataSource World Cities Databases edition, except for the Free edition. This information is represented using Region Code (region_code) field in the database. The region code is a number ranging from 1 to 6, and below are the mapping to the continent name.


The subcontinent is divided from the main continental by geographical features. It is made up of a number of countries that form a large landmass.

In GeoDataSource World Cities Database, the Sub-Region Code (sub_region_code) field acts as almost same as the subcontinent. This subcontinent information is also available in all GeoDataSource World Cities Databases edition, except for the Free edition. Sub-Region Code is a sub-division of region code. It is a two-character code that mapped to the subcontinent full name. The first character represents the region code and the combination of the two-character generated the sub-region code. The sub-region code is a self-defined code by GeoDataSource. The table below shows the mapping of sub_region_code to subcontinent name.

1ACentral Africa
1BEastern Africa
1CIndian Ocean
1DNorthern Africa
1ESouthern Africa
1FWestern Africa
2ACentral America
2BNorth America
2CSouth America
2DWest Indies
3BAtlantic Ocean
4ACentral Asia
4BEast Asia
4CNorthern Asia
4DSouth Asia
4ESouth East Asia
4FSouth West Asia
5ACentral Europe
5BEastern Europe
5CNorthern Europe
5DSouth East Europe
5ESouth West Europe
5FSouthern Europe
5GWestern Europe
6ANorth Pacific Ocean
6CSouth Pacific Ocean


Was this article helpful?

Related Articles